New Video: Bon Iver – Calgary

Today  sees the release of Bon Iver’s second album, Bon Iver, Bon Iver. Featuring ten new songs penned by Justin Vernon, the album expands the group’s sonic palette beyond the rustic acoustics of the debut. A lush landscape of silky electric guitars, intricate keys, and subtle horn and string sections,Bon Iver, Bon Iver retains the ghost choirs and densely layered vocals intact that Bon Iver is widely celebrated for.

Painstakingly crafted over three years, the album was recorded and mixed at April Base Studios, a former veterinarian’s clinic in Fall Creek, WI, converted into a recording studio by Vernon and his brother. Bon Iver regulars Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan contributed vocals, drums and production; Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons, The National) helped with arranging and strings; and Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek provided processing. The album also features the pedal steel of Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell) and a horn section including Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire), Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird, Happy Apple), and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens).

The new album took remarkable reviews. See for yourself:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ – Guardian Film & Music

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ – The Independent

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ – The Sunday Times

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ – Sunday Express

“Our love intensifies” – ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Time Out

“Flawless right up to its conclusion” – 9.5 Pitchfork, Best New Music

“Bon Iver possesses all of the austere beauty and understated emotiveness of it’s predecessor” – ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Uncut


Watch below the video for the first single to be lifted from the album, ‘Calgary’.

More from Dimitris Argyriou

News: Angelina Jolie’s ‘In The Land of Blood and Honey’

American movie star Angelina Jolie is making her directorial debut with a...
Read More